cherubs in the bathroom

30Apr12

cherubs

for as long as i can remember, my mom had this picture on the bathroom wall of our old house on keator street.

she told me that it was c and i, as angels. i remember looking at that picture every day, thinking that my mom saw my sister and i as angels, and how we would never be so affectionate with each other as the cherubs in the pictures.

not even coming out from under heavy sedation.

one thing i had never noticed were my angel’s wings. they are black. dark angel, black sheep, bad apple. my mom thinks of me now as her wayward child, but i bet you that she never once got a sense of foreboding by looking at this picture.

she probably never even noticed that the wings were black.

No Responses Yet to “cherubs in the bathroom”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

