pretty woman

18May12

the obligatory shopping scene is a favorite in any rags-to-riches movie. “pretty woman”‘ “pollyanna”, “poor little rich girl”, apart from all beginning with the letter ‘p’, have such a scene. they never fail to make us feel good, feel happy. i am not sure why, but it probably has something to do with knowing the satisfaction we would get on a shopping spree with money no object.

i always say “when i grow up, i will …” i am nineteen, so by legal standards of course i am an adult. but in my mind’s eye, i am not. if you asked me if i were a girl or a woman, i think i am at a point where i might say ‘both’. i still feel like a little girl sometimes, and i still see myself that way. i think that it won’t be until i have reached a certain level of independence, of sophistication, that i will be able to honestly say “i am a woman”.20120416-153416.jpg

my big “when i grow up” involves a pair of shoes. since i was small, i remember thinking of red patent leather high-heeled open-toe shoes as the epitome of grown-up sophistication. i still do. someday, when i have my own place, get up each morning and put on makeup, someday when i actually have a place to go or people to see, i will buy a pair of those shoes.

someday. when i’m grown up.

if you want to give me a head-start though, i wear a size 8.

19 Responses to “pretty woman”

  1. I loved that movie too…Diane

  2. 3 Lia C.

    I think every girl has “those” shoes. Mine are black satin pumps. I’m 25, and I still don’t have them…does that mean I don’t have to be grown up yet??

  3. I see what you mean. I’m 23 and will be 24 this year and starting dressing like a “woman”. When I was younger, I was a tomboy and when I was your age I started wearing dressier shirts, but with converse lol Heels are usually a “grown up” thing but remember: We are all children with grown up faces πŸ˜‰ Just remember, the older you get (no matter how hectic or stressful things may become) don’t forget how you were at 19 πŸ™‚

    • I think I might be permanently stuck in my state of maturity, ha. Things can’t get any more stressful than I’ve already lived! I was never a tomboy, but never knew what matched.

  4. i didn’t begin to feel grown up until i was in my mid 30’s…it had nothing to do with shoes πŸ˜‰

    • Ha! I’m not even a shoes person. I’m not sure where the idea came from. Maybe instead of shoes for you it was buying a home?

  5. I’m 19 in two weeks and I do not feel in any way grown up. I am a child, plain and simple πŸ˜› And I don’t want to grow up. No way!

  6. 18 cyprineb

    πŸ™‚ I still think of myself as a girl about a third of the time. My “womenly” shoes of choice are boots – any type of boots. Lace-up booties, combat boots, platforms, stiletto hooker boots, riding boots, etc. Mostly I prefer calf length or higher. Boots just make me feel instantly more confident and ready for whatever comes my way. Ready for some ass-kicking! The style of boot varies depending on the mood and what I happen to need to do that day.

    • Oh, I never thought of boots that way before! My most grown up pair goes to my knees. You must have a huge boot collection.


Leave a Reply

